Doognad Records

Band picture BTEW

Before The Eyewall

Before the Eyewall (Photo by Lloyd Anderson of HLA Photo) is a heavy, psychedelic, instrumental trio formed in 2010 in Columbus, OH by Aaron O’Brien-Eichman (percussion, keys, visual design) and Garrett LoConti (guitars, samples, keys). Both are veterans of the burgeoning DIY music and art scene in central OH and have worked together in several other projects. The band’s creative output draws from a wide spectrum of creative influences while forging unique, melodic, cinematic and visceral compositions not necessarily intended for the casual listener. Utilizing an array of bass players to complete the live presentation (and sometimes performing as a two-piece), BTE has toured the US extensively since they officially began hitting road in September of 2011. To date, the band has under their collective belt, forty states and performances that number in the hundreds. Another month-long National/West Coast tour was completed in June of 2013 in support of the debut self-titled full-length record which was independently released on March 14, 2013. The album was recorded over several months in 2012 at Popside Studios in Troy, OH by Brian Whitten and was mastered by Colin Marston (Dysrhythmia, Gorguts, Behold the Arctopus) at Menegroth the Thousand Caves Studio in NYC. It is currently available in Compact Disc (limited run of 500) and Digital Download formats. The band also released a now long-sold-out 25-minute demo EP CDR in 2011 entitled “Euxine Currents” which is a single track comprised of multiple movements. Subsequently in 2012, a Tour EP CDR was released in 2012 entitled “SKYRISES” (now also sold out) which, as a preview of the then forthcoming record, featured an early, non-mastered version of the song “Skyrises” and a live version of “Tome of the Concentric Eye.” BTE has had the honor and pleasure of sharing the stage with scores of great bands such as: Noothgrush, Pallbearer, Intronaut, A Storm of Light, Cloudkicker, Mouth of the Architect, Keelhaul, Rebreather, Mike Scheidt (of Yob), Royal Thunder, Generation of Vipers, Lo-Pan, Tombs, Cough, Mose Giganticus, Unearthly Trance, Wolvserpent, among a myriad of others.